Nov. 7th, 2012

ravnsdaughter: (change ahead)
I posted last night on Facebook announcing that the move is going ahead. I essentially gave notice at my job yesterday, but not in the usual "here's my 2 weeks, I'm outta here" format. Rather, I had a chat with my boss where I explained what we were up to, and reminded him of his statements in the past where he's mentioned a desire to move to having a paralegal instead of a legal assistant, etc. and how he'd just laya me off if he did that. So where it was left at is that he's going to put up an ad for a replacement for me, and once he finds someone, will be giving me two weeks notice that he's laying me off (and the layoff will guarantee me unemployment). This will make things MUCH easier for us, as I will be able to get my unemployment claim in before I even move, rather than having to wait until after. Chances are good I'll be finished work somewhere between 1-3 weeks before the actual move, which will
give me more time to finish up the packing and cleaning etc.

Ian will be going up in 2-3 weeks regardless of whether he has a job or not, as he is pretty much guaranteed to get a job within a week or so once he's up there. Some awesome friends of ours have a spare room that he can rent for a month or so until we get into a place of our own. Now our biggest worry is figuring out where we're going to live. If it comes right down to it, we may have to arrange to foster out our pets for six months to a year, until we can purchase a place. We REALLY don't like this idea, but it might be our last resort. Argh. But we really don't have the option of purchasing a place right away, and there are not a lot of places that allow large dogs, despite the fact that apparently everyone in Fort St. John seems to HAVE a large dog.

Seriously, I'm more worried about where the hell we're going to live than the actual job search!
ravnsdaughter: (change ahead)
Ok, this worked the last time, so I'm going to try this again.

We're in need of two things right now... a job for Ian in Fort St. John, and a place to live in Fort St. John. "They" say "ask, and ye shall receive", so here we go... I'm asking.

A job for Ian: what we need is a trade apprenticeship, preferably as an electrician. We're looking for $18 an hour, benefits after three months, within biking distance of our future home during the summer. An offer while he's still here in New West would be ideal, but an offer before December 1st is really what we need.

As for a place to live, here's what we need:
2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom. Ideally at least 1000 square feet. Pets allowed, including big dogs. Absolute maximum $1,500 per month but $1,200 would be ideal. In-suite laundry would be ideal. We can handle a move in date anywhere from November 15 to December 15th

Ok, Universe, do your stuff!

Profile

ravnsdaughter: (Default)
ravnsdaughter

December 2012

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
910 111213 1415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 21st, 2017 06:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios